Skip to main content

Curling’s Brightest Stars Head to Calgary for the Humpty’s Champions Cup, April 25-30 on Sportsnet

April 21, 2017

News Releases

 

TORONTO (April 21, 2017) The “Stampede City” is ready to host the world’s best men’s and women’s teams as Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling heads to Calgary for the Humpty’s Champions Cup – the final event of the 2016-17 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – beginning Tuesday, April 25.

Sportsnet’s coverage gets underway live from WinSport Arena, Canada Olympic Park, in Calgary on Thursday, April 27 at 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW and continues through the final on Sunday evening. (Full broadcast details below).

The Humpty’s Champions Cup showcases all of the top winners on tour over the course of the season in one final showdown. The top 15 men’s and 15 women’s teams are set to compete in round-robin play for a combined $250,000 purse for the coveted Humpty’s Champions Cup titles.

Sportsnet’s curling experts bring fans closer to the action from Calgary, with Rob Faulds calling the play-by-play alongside 2010 Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin,1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker.

 

For additional details regarding the Humpty’s Champions Cup, event format, team lists and scoring, please visit thegrandslamofcurling.com.

 

Interviews and Media Accreditation

Sportsnet’s curling commentators are available for interviews to discuss the Humpty’s Champions Cup and Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling.  For media accreditation, please contact harneet.birgi@rci.rogers.com

Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. Additionally, total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $2 million for 2016-17 season. For more details on future events, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com.

 

Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Humpty’s Champions Cup
*All broadcasts available for live streaming via Sportsnet NOW
**Broadcast schedule subject to change, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com for up-to-date schedule information.

 Thursday, Apr. 27

  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT
  • Round Robin, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
  • Round Robin, 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT

 Friday, Apr. 28

  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT
  • Round Robin, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
  • Round Robin, 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT

Saturday, Apr. 29

  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT
  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 9:30 p.m. ET/ 6:30 p.m. PT

 Sunday, Apr. 30

  • Women’s Final, Noon ET/ 9 a.m. PT
  • Men’s Final, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling returns for the 2017-18 season starting with the Tour Challenge, Sept 5-10, in Regina.

Social Media

Web:
Official Website, Sportsnet http://www.sportsnet.ca/

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.thegrandslamofcurling.com/
Instagram:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamofcurling
Facebook:
Like Sportsnet http://www.facebook.com/sportsnet
Like Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.facebook.com/thegrandslamofcurling
Twitter:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamcurl
Official Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR


About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, connecting Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes.  Delivering storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World.  Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN), Vancouver Canucks and Montreal Canadiens. Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.

Media Contacts:

Harneet Birgi, Harneet.birgi@rci.rogers.com, (w) 647.970.6257
Jordan Kerbel, Jordan.kerbel@rci.rogers.com, (m) 437.995.3880
Meghann Cox, meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.258.3296