Skip to main content

Hockey Meets Hollywood for the 2017 NHL All-Star Weekend, January 27-29 on Sportsnet

January 24, 2017

News Releases

 

 

TORONTO (January 24, 2017) Sportsnet heads to LA LA Land for the 2017 NHL All-Star Weekend in Los Angeles, with wall-to-wall multiplatform coverage live from Friday, Jan. 27 to Sunday, Jan. 29. All the action is available via live streaming on Sportsnet NOW, with coverage also on Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE™. (Full broadcast details and schedule below)

Coverage gets underway on Friday with the 90-minute NHL All-Star Special preview show, followed by the star-studded THE NHL100™ presented by GEICO 90-minute prime-time event. Festivities continue Saturday night with the fan-favourite 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition, and culminates on Sunday with the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game as hockey’s best snipers, shooters and skaters go head-to-head at the Staples Center.

As the home of hockey’s brightest stars, Sportsnet’s coverage from the City of Angels also includes exclusive must-see features, behind-the-scenes access, and in-depth analysis with the network’s own all-star cast.

NHL All-Star Weekend on Sportsnet

Friday, January 27

  • 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT – NHL All-Star Special (Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW)

Host: Ron MacLean; Analysts: Elliotte Friedman, Kelly Hrudey and Nick Kypreos
Reporters: Scott Oake and NHL Network’s Jamie Hersch

Special Feature: Canadian hockey broadcast legends Bob Cole and Dick Irvin sit down with David Amber to discuss the first members of the 100 Greatest NHL Players roster, as announced during the 2017 NHL Centennial Classic

  • 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT – THE NHL100™ presented by GEICO (Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW)

Prime-time television special to reveal the entire roster of the 100 Greatest NHL Players, taking place live from Microsoft Theatre in L.A. Hosted by Jon Hamm, with appearances by recording artists John Legend, Robin Thicke and John Ondrasik of Five for Fighting.

 

Saturday, January 28

  • 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT – Sportsnet Central – Live from Staples Center (Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW)

Host: Martine Gaillard

  • 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT – Hockey Central (Sportsnet, CBC and Sportsnet NOW)

Hosts: Amber and MacLean; Analysts: Friedman, Hrudey and Kypreos

Special Appearance: Don Cherry

  • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition (Sportsnet, CBC, Sportsnet NOW and Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE)

Hosts: Amber and MacLean; Panel: Friedman, Hrudey and Kypreos; Reporters: Oake
Play-by-play: Jim Hughson; Game Analyst: Craig Simpson

 

Sunday, January 29

  • 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT – Hockey Central (Sportsnet, CBC and Sportsnet NOW)

Host: MacLean; Analysts: Friedman, Hrudey and Kypreos

 Special Feature: MacLean sits down for a round-table discussion with some of hockey’s most celebrated icons – Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux and Bobby Orr

  • 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT – 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game (Sportsnet, CBC, Sportsnet NOW and Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE)

Host: MacLean; Panel: Friedman, Hrudey and Kypreos; Reporters: Amber and Oake
Play-by-play: Hughson; Game Analyst: Simpson

First Intermission: Coach’s Corner with Don Cherry and Ron MacLean
Second Intermission: Musical performance by Nick Jonas

 

On The Web
As the action gets under way in Hollywood this weekend, Sportsnet keeps fans updated with exclusive access to the NHL’s stars on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat, while Luke Fox and Chris Johnston provide up-to-the-minute news and analysis on sportsnet.ca.

Social Media Links
Official Website, Sportsnet sportsnet.ca
Like Sportsnet facebook.com/sportsnet
Follow Ron MacLean @RonMacLeanHTH
Follow Elliotte Friedman @FriedgeHNIC
Follow Kelly Hrudey @KellyHrudey
Follow Nick Kypreos @RealKyper
Follow Scott Oake @ScottOake
Follow David Amber @DavidAmber
Follow Don Cherry @CoachsCornerDC
Follow Craig Simpson @hnicsimmer
Follow Martine Gaillard @MartineGaillard
Follow Luke Fox @lukefoxjukebox
Follow Chris Johnston @reporterchris
Follow Sportsnet on Twitter @Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet on Instagram @Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

 About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, connecting Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes.  Delivering storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World.  Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN), Vancouver Canucks and Montreal Canadiens. Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, Thursday Night Football, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.

Media Contacts:
Meghann Cox, Meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.258.3296