Sportsnet Serves Up Multiplatform Rogers Cup Coverage, Starting August 7

Back to news

 

– Caroline Cameron, Brad Fay and panel of former players anchor weeklong coverage –

– Canadian stars Milos Raonic and Genie Bouchard headline player fields along with world’s top-ranked players –

– Coverage of second show courts in both cities available exclusively on Sportsnet NOW –

 

TORONTO (August 2, 2017) The stars of the tennis world are set to hit Canadian courts next week as the 2017 Rogers Cup presented by National Bank returns to Toronto and Montreal – and Sportsnet is ready to smash it with comprehensive coverage of the premier tournament from August 7-13. Sportsnet delivers exclusive Canadian English-language coverage of all rounds of Rogers Cup on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, OLN, and Sportsnet NOW, with additional content available on sportsnet.ca and Sportsnet 590 The FAN. Action gets underway on Monday, Aug. 7 at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE and Sportsnet NOW.

Rogers Cup in Toronto will feature all of the Top 10 female players in the world including seven-time Grand Slam singles champion Venus Williams, world No. 1 Karolina Pliskova, defending champion Simona Halep and recent Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza. In addition, Canadian star Genie Bouchard will take to the courts in hopes of lifting the trophy in front of a home crowd. The men will take centre stage in Montreal, with world No. 1 Andy Murray leading the way along with Canada’s No. 1 player Milos Raonic, the legendary Roger Federer and fan-favourite Rafael Nadal.

Below are the key details of Sportsnet’s 2017 Rogers Cup coverage across TV, radio, and digital: 

Television
Sportsnet’s roster of experts will provide Canadian tennis fans with up-to-the-minute coverage and in-depth analysis from Montreal and Toronto:

  • Sportsnet Central’s Caroline Cameron hosts the daytime coverage of Rogers Cup from Tennis Central presented by Lindt on location at Uniprix Stadium in Montreal. Joining Cameron for the day shift is former Fed Cup player Sharon Fichman. Brad Fay anchors prime-time coverage alongside another former Canadian player and WTA coach Jesse Levine. Former Davis Cup player and Olympic coach Robert Bettauer is on full-time duty from Tennis Central providing insight and analysis day and night.
  • Montreal (Men’s): Rob Faulds calls play-by-play on Centre Court alongside former ATP Top 5 player Jimmy Arias as analyst and courtside reporter Arash Madani . At the National Bank Court, Dan Murphy handles play-by-play while Kyle Bukauskas delivers reports throughout the week for the live broadcasts as well as for Sportsnet Central.

  • Toronto (Women’s):J. Broadhead will call play-by-play from Centre Court, with two-time U.S. Open singles champion, and this year’s Rogers Cup Hall of Fame inductee, Tracy Austin providing analysis. Sportsnet’s Jackie Redmond will report from courtside, while Eric Smith has the call on the National Bank Grandstand Court.
  • Features: In addition to live on-court coverage of the 2017 Rogers Cup, Sportsnet also takes an in-depth look at some of Canada’s top tennis talent:
    • Now a perennial Top 10 player, Raonic sits down with Madani to discuss his assessment of his career so far, his confidence level heading into the hardcourt season and what he believes he needs to do to get to the next level
    • Unapologetically outspoken, Bouchard chats with Cameron about her open criticism of Maria Sharapova and how her overall attitude can help her as she attempts to rise back to the upper echelon of the WTA elite
    • One of Canada’s most promising young players, get a behind-the-scenes look at Denis Shapovalov as he navigates through his first full year on the ATP World Tour

 

Digital
The one-stop shop for Canadian tennis fans, Sportsnet NOW, sportsnet.ca and the Sportsnet app will deliver full coverage of the 2017 Rogers Cup, including:

  • A live stream of every singles match played on the secondary show courts, National Bank Grandstand Court in Toronto and National Bank Court in Montreal, will be available all week exclusively on Sportsnet NOW
  • Daily news, interviews and analysis from Sportsnet tennis insiders, including Cameron, Madani, Kristina RutherfordDave Zarum and Eric Engels
  • Real time clips and highlights from Montreal and Toronto, including Sportsnet’s panel analysis
  • Round-the-clock social media content on Sportsnet’s FacebookInstagram and Twitter

Radio
Aces – Monday, August 7 at 11 p.m. ET (Sportsnet 590 The FAN and online)

2017 Rogers Cup Broadcast Schedule
*All Sportsnet broadcasts available to stream on Sportsnet NOW

*Schedule is subject to change

 

Monday, August 7

  • Women’s Round 1, 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Men’s Round 1, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Men’s Round 1, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Women’s Round 1, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)

Tuesday, August 8

  • Women’s Round 1 & 2, 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Men’s Rounds 1 & 2, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Men’s Round 1 & 2, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Women’s Round 1 & 2, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (OLN & Sportsnet NOW)

Wednesday, August 9

  • Women’s Round 2, 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Men’s Round 2, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Men’s Round 2, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Women’s Round 2, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)

Thursday, August 10

  • Women’s Round 3, 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Men’s Round 3, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Men’s Round 3, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Women’s Round 3, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)

Friday, August 11

  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 6:30 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360)

Saturday, August 12

  • Women’s Semifinals, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Men’s Semifinals, 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT (Sportsnet)
  • Women’s Semifinals, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Men’s Semifinals, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet 360)

Sunday, August 13

  • Women’s Final, 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Men’s Final, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)

 

Social Media Links
Official website, Sportsnet http://www.sportsnet.ca/
Like Sportsnet www.Facebook.com/Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet on Twitter @Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet on Instagram @Sportsnet
Follow Caroline Cameron @SNCaroline
Follow Sharon Fichman @sharon_fichman
Follow Brad Fay @SNBradFay
Follow Jesse Levine @jesselevine7
Follow Robert Bettauer @rbett56
Follow Rob Faulds @SNFaulds
Follow Jimmy Arias @ariastennis
Follow Arash Madani @ArashMadani
Follow Dan Murphy @sportsnetmurph
Follow Kyle Bukauskas @SNKyleBukauskas
Follow RJ Broadhead @SNRJBroadhead
Follow Tracy Austin @thetracyaustin
Follow Jackie Redmond @Jackie_Redmond
Follow Eric Smith @Eric__Smith
Follow Kristina Rutherford @KrRutherford
Follow Dave Zarum @DaveZarum
Follow Eric Engels @EricEngels
Follow Roger Lajoie @TheRog590
Follow Tom Tebbutt @tomtebbutt
Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, connecting Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes.  Delivering storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World.  Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks (including radio rights on Sportsnet 650). Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.

 

Media Contacts:

Jordan Kerbel, jordan.kerbel@rci.rogers.com, (m) 437.995.3880
Sarah Grossman, sarah.grossman@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.509.9694
Meghann Cox, meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.258.3296

 

One response to “Sportsnet Serves Up Multiplatform Rogers Cup Coverage, Starting August 7”

  1. Bill Hynes says:

    Hi been watching the Rogers Cup from both cities for years. Very disappointed that the wome’s tournament not covered at all in the USA this year. Not on ESPN or the Tennis Channel seems like a big missed opportunity for the WTA and all the sponsors of the tournament not to have TV coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Frequency