Skip to main content

Back-To-Back All-Star Action Happ-ening in Washington: Sportsnet Delivers 2018 MLB Home Run Derby and 2018 MLB All-Star Game, July 16-17

July 16, 2018

News Releases
– J.A. Happ set to represent Blue Jays at the 89th Midsummer Classic; Dan Shulman and Buck Martinez in the broadcast booth  –

TORONTO (July 16, 2018) The MLB’s best is set to impress at the Midsummer Classic and Sportsnet has fans covered, delivering comprehensive coverage of the 2018 MLB Home Run Derby and 2018 MLB All-Star Game, live from Nationals Park in Washington, DC. Sportsnet’s multiplatform coverage begins with the fan-favourite Home Run Derby tonight (Monday, July 16) at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT followed by live coverage of the 89th All-Star Game on Tuesday, July 17 at  7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT on Sportsnet, Sportsnet Radio Network and Sportsnet NOW. There is plenty of Canadian content to cheer about as Blue Jays pitcher J.A. Happ is making his first All-Star appearance, and Blue Jays announcers Dan Shulman and Buck Martinez will be calling the game for the MLB International Feed, which will be airing on Sportsnet. Below are the details of Sportsnet’s MLB All-Star coverage: Broadcast Schedule Monday, July 16
  • Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT – Baseball Central at Noon (Sportsnet 590 The FAN and Sportsnet.ca)
  • 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT – 2018 MLB Home Run Derby (Sportsnet, Sportsnet Radio Network & Sportsnet NOW)
  • 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT – Sportsnet Central (Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW)
    • Hazel Mae delivers news, updates and recaps of the night’s events
Tuesday, July 17
  • Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT – Baseball Central at Noon (Sportsnet 590 The FAN and Sportsnet.ca)
    • Hosts: Blair and Barker
  • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – MLB Central: All-Star Edition (Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW)
    • Hosts: Jamie Campbell and Barker; Reporters: Mae and Shi Davidi
      • Special Features:
        • A. Happ: Look back on the career of first-time All-Star J.A. Happ and the trade that set it all in motion
        • Jose Altuve: Take an in-depth look at perennial All-Star Jose Altuve and his obsession with baseball that led to three batting titles and an MVP
      • Sportsnet Radio Network MLB All-Star Game pre-game coverage begins
    • 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT – 2018 MLB All-Star Game (Sportsnet, Sportsnet Radio Network and Sportsnet NOW)
      • Announcers: Dan Shulman and Buck Martinez
    • 11 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. PT – Sportsnet Central (Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW)
      • Mae delivers news, updates and recaps of the night’s events
Digital The ultimate destination for Canadian baseball fans, Sportsnet.ca features wall-to-wall coverage of the All-Star festivities in Washington, including:
  • News and analysis from the Home Run Derbyand MLB All-Star Game, as well as highlights and interviews
  • Coverage of the MLB Futures Gamewith Davidi featuring Blue Jays prospects Bo Bichette and Danny Jansen
  • By The Numbers:Home Run Derby and MLB All-Star Game editions
  • Up-to-the-minute coverage on Sportsnet’s social media channels: InstagramTwitterFacebook
Social Media Links Official Website, Sportsnet sportsnet.ca Like Sportsnet facebook.com/sportsnet Follow Sportsnet on Twitter @Sportsnet Follow Sportsnet on Instagram @Sportsnet Follow Dan Shulman @DShulman_ESPN Follow Jeff Blair @SNJeffBlair Follow Hazel Mae @thehazelmae Follow Jamie Campbell @SNETCampbell Follow Shi Davidi @ShiDavidi Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR About Sportsnet Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 speciality network and #1 sports media brand. Uniting Canadians through sport, Sportsnet’s multimedia offerings include Sportsnet (consisting of 4 regional channels: East, Ontario, West, and Pacific), Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, the Sportsnet Radio Network, Sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet NOW, the Sportsnet app, and podcasts. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multiplatform rights holder, and is the regional broadcaster for the Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, and Toronto Maple Leafs. Sportsnet also has extensive coverage of the Blue Jays, as well as NBA, MLB, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, WWE, Premier League, and FA Cup. Sportsnet is part of Rogers Media, which is a subsidiary of Rogers Communications Inc. (TSX, NYSE: RCI). Visit Sportsnet.ca.