News & Ideas
All Articles

Game. Set. Match. Sportsnet to Deliver Court-to-Court Coverage of Rogers Cup, Starting August 6

– Tennis Central broadcast team to deliver live coverage from Toronto and Montreal –

– Canadian stars Milos Raonic, Denis Shapovalov and Genie Bouchard set to compete amongst world’s best players–

– All secondary court coverage in both cities available exclusively on Sportsnet NOW –


TORONTO (August 2, 2018) Canadian tennis fans will have the ultimate courtside pass to the sights, sounds and stars of tennis next week as Sportsnet serves up world-class coverage of the 2018 Rogers Cup presented by National Bank, August 6 to 12. Returning to Toronto and Montreal for Canada’s premier tennis tournament, Sportsnet is match-ready to deliver Canadian English-language coverage of all rounds of Rogers Cup on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360 and Sportsnet NOW, with additional content available on sportsnet.ca and Sportsnet 590 The FAN.

Live multiplatform coverage of the 2018 Rogers Cup smashes down on Monday, Aug. 6 at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE and Sportsnet NOW.

As the biggest stars in tennis descend on Montreal and Toronto next week, Sportsnet will be courtside to deliver all the hard-hitting action to Canadian viewers. In Montreal, 23-time Grand Slam champion Serena Williams, World No. 1 Simona Halep, defending Rogers Cup champion Elina Svitolina and Canada’s own Genie Bouchard headline the women’s competition. In Toronto, Canadian stars Milos Raonic and Denis Shapovalov battle it out against the top ATP World Tour players, including World No. 1 Rafael Nadal and 2018 Wimbledon champion Novak Djokovic at the Aviva Centre.

Key details of the 2018 Rogers Cup on Sportsnet include:


Television

Sportsnet’s all-star roster of tennis experts will provide Canadian viewers with an all-access pass to the action in Toronto and Montreal, including up-to-the-minute coverage and in-depth match analysis.

  • Features
    • Sportsnet celebrates the career and contributions of 2018 Canadian Tennis Hall of Fame inductee Daniel Nestor, who is set to play in his 30th and final Rogers Cup this month
    • Sportsnet’s Caroline Cameron takes an in-depth look at Canadian Rebecca Marino’s return to competitive tennis following her five-year battle with depression
    • Sportsnet shines the spotlight on Robert Bedard, the last Canadian man to capture the national Open title 60 years ago in 1958
    • Arash Madani sits down with rising star Denis Shapovalov to re-live his upset victory over World No. 1 Rafael Nadal in Montreal last August


Digital

The ultimate online destination for Canadian tennis fans on the go, Sportsnet delivers wall-to-wall coverage of the 2018 Rogers Cup on sportsnet.ca, the Sportsnet app and Sportsnet NOW. Coverage includes:

  • On Sunday, Aug. 5, a special Daniel Nestor “Big Read” published on Sportsnet.ca
  • Tribute videos and vignettes for Nestor, starring tennis greats such as Roger Federer and Stefan Edberg on Sportsnet’s YouTube channel
  • A live stream of men’s and women’s secondary courts Monday through Thursday and Tuesday night’s women’s session, exclusively on Sportsnet NOW
  • Daily news, interviews and analysis from Sportsnet tennis insiders, including Damien Cox and Kristina Rutherford
  • Real time clips and highlights from Montreal and Toronto, including Sportsnet’s panel analysis
  • Round-the-clock social media content on Sportsnet’s Twitter, Instagram and Facebook


Radio

  • Aces Hosts Roger Lajoie and Tom Tebbutt deliver the annual tournament preview show ahead of the first serve in Toronto and Montreal (Monday, Aug. 6 at 10 p.m. ET, Sportsnet 590 The FAN & Sportsnet.ca)


2018 Rogers Cup Broadcast Schedule

Monday, August 6

  • Women’s Round 1 – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Round 1 – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Round 1 – 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Round 1 – 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

Tuesday, August 7

  • Women’s Rounds 1 & 2 – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Rounds 1 & 2 – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Rounds 1 & 2 – 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Round 1s & 2 – 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)

Wednesday, August 8

  • Women’s Round 2  – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Round 2 – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Round 2 – 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Round 2 – 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Thursday, August 9

  • Men’s Round 3 – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Round 3 – 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Round 3 – 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Round 3 – 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Friday, August 10

  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Saturday, August 11

  • Women’s Semifinals, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Semifinals, 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Semifinals, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Semifinals, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Sunday, August 12

  • Women’s Championship Final, 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Championship Final, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

*Schedule may be subject to change


Social Media Links

Official website, Sportsnet sportsnet.ca

Like Sportsnet Facebook.com/Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet on Twitter @Sportsnet

Follow Sportsnet on Instagram @Sportsnet

Follow Caroline Cameron @SNCaroline

Follow Sharon Fichman @sharon_fichman

Follow Jesse Levine @jesselevine7

Follow Brad Fay @SNBradFay

Follow Robert Bettauer @rbett56

Follow Damien Cox @damospin

Follow Rob Faulds @SNFaulds

Follow Jimmy Arias @ariastennis

Follow Arash Madani @ArashMadani

Follow Dan Murphy @sportsnetmurph

Follow Kyle Bukauskas @SNKyleBukauskas

Follow RJ Broadhead @SNRJBroadhead

Follow Tracy Austin @thetracyaustin

Follow Evanka Osmak @EvankaOsmak

Follow Eric Smith @Eric__Smith

Follow Kristina Rutherford @KrRutherford

Follow Roger Lajoie @TheRog590

Follow Tom Tebbutt @TomTebbutt

Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR


About Sportsnet

Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 specialty network and #1 sports media brand. Uniting Canadians through sport, Sportsnet’s multimedia offerings include Sportsnet (consisting of 4 regional channels: East, Ontario, West, and Pacific), Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, the Sportsnet Radio Network, Sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet NOW, the Sportsnet app, and podcasts. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multiplatform rights holder, and is the regional broadcaster for the Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, and Toronto Maple Leafs. Sportsnet also has extensive coverage of the Blue Jays, as well as NBA, MLB, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, WWE, Premier League, and FA Cup. Sportsnet is part of Rogers Media, which is a subsidiary of Rogers Communications Inc. (TSX, NYSE: RCI). Visit Sportsnet.ca.