Skip to main content

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Heads to Camrose for the Meridian Canadian Open, Jan. 16-21

January 10, 2018

News Releases

– Live televised coverage begins Thursday, Jan. 18 on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW –

TORONTO (January 10, 2017) Beginning next week, Camrose, AB will be at the centre of the curling world as the Meridian Canadian Open – the fourth event of the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – slides into town from January 16-21. Sportsnet’s live coverage of the Meridian Canadian Open kicks off Thursday, Jan. 18 at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW (full broadcast details below).

Taking over the Encana Centre in Camrose, the Meridian Canadian Open features the top 16 men’s and women’s teams from around the world, including 2018 Olympic Games hopefuls Team Koe (Calgary) and Team Homan (Ottawa). The 32 participating teams will compete in a triple knockout bracket format, contending for a combined $250,000 purse and a berth in the Humpty’s Champions Cup, the final Grand Slam event of the season.

For Canada’s representatives and nine elite international teams, the Meridian Canadian Open marks their final bonspiel before travelling to the Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympic Games in South Korea.

For additional details regarding event format, team lists and scoring, please visit thegrandslamofcurling.com

Returning for another must-watch Grand Slam event, Sportsnet’s expert curling commentators will be at the heart of the action in Camrose. Veteran broadcaster Rob Faulds will have the play-by-play call while 2010 Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin, 1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker provide insight and analysis throughout the bonspiel.

Interviews and Media Accreditation

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling competitors and Sportsnet’s curling commentators are available to discuss the Meridian Canadian Open and 2017-18 season. For interview requests or media accreditation, please contact meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com

Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. Additionally, total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $2 million for 2016-17 season. For more details on future events, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com.

Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Meridian Canadian Open
*Broadcast schedule subject to change

Thursday, Jan. 18

  • Triple Knockout, 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, West, Pacific & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

Friday, Jan. 19

  • Triple Knockout, 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

Saturday, Jan. 20

  • Women’s Quarter-finals, Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)

Sunday, Jan. 21

  • Women’s Final, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Final, 4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)


Additional events in the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series include:

  • Princess Auto Elite 10 – Winnipeg, MB (March 15-18, St. James Civic Centre)
  • Players’ Championship – Toronto, ON (April 10-15, Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre)
  • Humpty’s Champions Cup – Calgary, AB (April 24-29, WinSport Arena, Canada Olympic Park)


Social Media

Web:
Official Website, Sportsnet http://www.sportsnet.ca/
Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.thegrandslamofcurling.com/
Instagram:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamofcurling
Facebook:
Like Sportsnet http://www.facebook.com/sportsnet
Like Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.facebook.com/thegrandslamofcurling
Twitter:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamcurl
Official Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

 

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, connecting Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes.  Delivering storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World.  Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks (including radio rights on Sportsnet 650). Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.

Media Contacts

Meghann Cox, meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.258.3296

Jordan Kerbel, jordan.kerbel@rci.rogers.com, (m) 437.995.3880