Skip to main content

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Returns to Toronto for the Players’ Championship, April 10-15

April 5, 2018

News Releases

– Top 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams to compete in round-robin style format –
– Live televised coverage begins Thursday, April 12 on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW –

TORONTO (April 5, 2018) Beginning next week, Toronto will once again be at the centre of the curling world as the Players’ Championship – the sixth event of the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – returns to town, April 10-15. Sportsnet’s live coverage of the Players’ Championship kicks off Thursday, April 12 at Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW (full broadcast details below).

Returning to Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre in downtown Toronto for the fifth time in six years, the Players’ Championship features the top 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams from around the world, including nine-time Grand Slam champions Team Jones (Winnipeg) and Team Gushue (St. John’s, NL). The exceptional pool of talent will also include reigning Olympic gold-medallists Team Shuster (Duluth, USA) and Team Hasselborg (Sundbyberg, Sweden), as well as the silver-medallist Team Kim (Uiseong, Korea). The 24 participating teams will compete in a round-robin style bonspiel, contending for a combined $300,000 purse.

For additional details regarding event format, team lists and scoring, please visit thegrandslamofcurling.com

Returning for another must-watch Grand Slam event, Sportsnet’s expert curling commentators will be at the heart of the action in Toronto. Veteran broadcaster Rob Faulds will have the play-by-play call while 2010 Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin, 1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker provide insight and analysis throughout the bonspiel.

Interviews and Media Accreditation

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling competitors and Sportsnet’s curling commentators are available to discuss the Players’ Championship and 2017-18 season. For interview requests or media accreditation, please contact meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com

Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. Additionally, total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $2 million for 2016-17 season. For more details on future events, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com

Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Players’ Championship
*Broadcast schedule subject to chang

Thursday, April 12

  • Round Robin, Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)

Friday, April 13

  • Round Robin, Noon ET / 9 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Saturday, April 14

  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT (CBC)
  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Sunday, April 15

  • Men’s Final, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Women’s Final, 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)

Additional events in the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series include:

  • Humpty’s Champions Cup – Calgary, AB (April 24-29, WinSport Arena, Canada Olympic Park)


Social Media

Web:
Official Website, Sportsnet http://www.sportsnet.ca/
Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.thegrandslamofcurling.com/
Instagram:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamofcurling
Facebook:
Like Sportsnet http://www.facebook.com/sportsnet
Like Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.facebook.com/thegrandslamofcurling
Twitter:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamcurl
Official Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 speciality network and #1 sports media brand. Uniting Canadians through sport, Sportsnet’s multimedia offerings include Sportsnet (consisting of 4 regional channels: East, Ontario, West, and Pacific), Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, the Sportsnet Radio Network, Sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet NOW, the Sportsnet app, and podcasts. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multiplatform rights holder, and is the regional broadcaster for the Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, and Toronto Maples Leafs. Sportsnet also has extensive coverage of the Blue Jays, as well as NBA, MLB, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, WWE, Premier League, and FA Cup. Sportsnet is part of Rogers Media, which is a subsidiary of Rogers Communications Inc. (TSX, NYSE: RCI). Visit Sportsnet.ca.