Skip to main content

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Season Opens in Regina with the Tour Challenge, Sept. 5-10

August 25, 2017

News Releases
– For the second consecutive season, a $2 million purse will be up for grabs throughout the Grand Slam tour –
TORONTO (August 25, 2017) Regina will be home to the world’s biggest and brightest curling stars next month as the Tour Challenge – the first event of the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – takes over The Co-Operators Centre at Evraz Place from September 5 to 10. Sportsnet’s coverage of the Tour Challenge gets underway on Thursday, Sept. 7 at 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW (full broadcast details below). Marking the first time Regina plays host to a Grand Slam event, the Tour Challenge will shine the spotlight on the top 30 men’s and the top 30 women’s teams from around the world. The 60 teams will be divided into two tiers of 15 men’s and 15 women’s squads. Competing in a round-robin style bonspiel, the Tier 1 teams will be contending for a combined $200,000 purse, while the Tier 2 teams compete for $100,000 in prize money. Winners of the Tier 1 event will receive invitations to the Humpty’s Champions Cup in Calgary (April 24-29, 2018), while the Tier 2 champions will secure a spot in the Mastersevent in October. For additional details regarding event format, team lists and scoring, please visit thegrandslamofcurling.com Returning for another must-see Grand Slam season, Sportsnet’s curling experts will be at the heart of the action in Regina. Veteran broadcasterRob Faulds will have the play-by-play call while Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin, 1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCuskerprovide insight and analysis throughout the bonspiel. Interviews and Media Accreditation Grand Slam of Curling competitors and Sportsnet’s curling commentators are available for interviews to discuss the Tour Challenge and2017-18 season. For interview requests or media accreditation, please contact meghann.cox @rci.rogers.com Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. Additionally, total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $2 millionfor 2016-17 season. For more details on future events, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com. Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Tour Challenge *All Sportsnet broadcasts are available for streaming via Sportsnet NOW **Broadcast schedule subject to change Thursday, Sept. 7
  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Round Robin, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Round Robin, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet)
Friday, Sept. 8
  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet)
  • Round Robin, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Round Robin, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
Saturday, Sept. 9
  • Women’s Quarter-finals, 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Men’s Quarter-finals, 5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE)
  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet ONE)
Sunday, Sept. 10
  • Men’s Final, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Women’s Final, 4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. ET (Sportsnet & Sportsnet ONE)
Additional events in the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series include:
  • Masters – Lloydminster, SK (October 24-29, Centennial Civic Centre)
  • Boost National – Sault Ste. Marie, ON (November 14-19, Essar Centre)
  • Meridian Canadian Open – Camrose, AB (January 16-21, Encana Arena at Camrose Recreation Centre)
  • Princess Auto Elite 10 – Winnipeg, MB (March 15-18, St. James Civic Centre)
  • Players’ Championship – Toronto, ON (April 10-15, Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre)
  • Humpty’s Champions Cup – Calgary, AB (April 24-29, WinSport Arena, Canada Olympic Park)
Social Media Web: Official Website, Sportsnet http://www.sportsnet.ca/ Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.thegrandslamofcurling.com/ Instagram: Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamofcurling Facebook: Like Sportsnet http://www.facebook.com/sportsnet Like Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.facebook.com/thegrandslamofcurling Twitter: Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamcurl Official Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR About Sportsnet Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, connecting Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes.  Delivering storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World.  Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks (including radio rights on Sportsnet 650). Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.