Skip to main content

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Slides into Lloydminster for the Masters, Oct. 24-29 on Sportsnet

October 19, 2017

News Releases

TORONTO (October 19, 2017) “Canada’s Border City” will be the centre of the curling world this week as the Masters – the second event of the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – rolls into Lloydminster, AB/SK from October 24 to 29. Sportsnet’s live coverage of the Masters gets underway on Thursday, Oct. 26 at 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW (full broadcast details below).

Taking over Lloydminster’s Centennial Civic Centre next week, the Masters features the top 15 men’s and the top 15 women’s teams from around the world, including eight-time Grand Slam champion Team Gushue and 2014 Olympic gold medallist Team Jones. Teams will compete in a round-robin style bonspiel, contending for a combined $250,000 purse and a berth in the Humpty’s Champions Cup, the final Grand Slam event of the season.

For additional details regarding event format, team lists and scoring, please visit thegrandslamofcurling.com

Returning for another can’t-miss Grand Slam season, Sportsnet’s curling experts will be at the heart of the action in Lloydminster. Veteran broadcaster Rob Faulds will have the play-by-play call while Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin, 1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker provide insight and analysis throughout the bonspiel.

Interviews and Media Accreditation

Grand Slam of Curling competitors and Sportsnet’s curling commentators are available for interviews to discuss the Masters and the full 2017-18 season. For interview requests or media accreditation, please contact meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com

Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. Additionally, total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $2 million for 2016-17 season. For more details on future events, please visit www.thegrandslamofcurling.com.

Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Masters

*Broadcast schedule subject to change

Thursday, Oct. 26

·         Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

·         Round Robin, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, West, Pacific, Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)

·         Round Robin, 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)

Friday, Oct. 27

·         Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

·         Round Robin, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

·         Round Robin, 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT (Sportsnet NOW)

Saturday, Oct. 28

·         Women’s Quarter-finals, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT (CBC)

·         Men’s Quarter-finals, 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

·         Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Sunday, Oct. 29

·         Men’s Final, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT (CBC)

·         Women’s Final, 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. ET (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

Additional events in the 2017-18 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series include:

·         Boost National – Sault Ste. Marie, ON (November 14-19, Essar Centre)

·         Meridian Canadian Open – Camrose, AB (January 16-21, Encana Arena at Camrose Recreation Centre)

·         Princess Auto Elite 10 – Winnipeg, MB (March 15-18, St. James Civic Centre)

·         Players’ Championship – Toronto, ON (April 10-15, Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre)

·         Humpty’s Champions Cup – Calgary, AB (April 24-29, WinSport Arena, Canada Olympic Park)

Social Media

Web:

Official Website, Sportsnet http://www.sportsnet.ca/

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.thegrandslamofcurling.com/
Instagram:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamofcurling
Facebook:
Like Sportsnet http://www.facebook.com/sportsnet
Like Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling http://www.facebook.com/thegrandslamofcurling
Twitter:
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamcurl

Official Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, uniting Canadians through sport with the content they love, accessible from anywhere.  Delivering world-class storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet 650, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app.  Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks (including radio rights on Sportsnet 650). Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.

Media Contacts

Meghann Cox, meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.258.3296
Jordan Kerbel, jordan.kerbel@rci.rogers.com, (m) 437.995.3880