Skip to main content

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Slides into Truro for the Canadian Beef Masters, Oct. 23-28

October 16, 2018

News Releases
– Live televised coverage begins Thursday, Oct. 25 on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW –

TORONTO (October 16, 2018) Nova Scotia will be at the centre of the curling world next week as the sport’s biggest stars travel to Truro for the Canadian Beef Masters – the second event of the 2018-19 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – from October 23-28. Sportsnet’s live coverage of the Canadian Beef Masters begins Thursday, Oct. 25 at 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW. (Full broadcast schedule below). Taking place at Truro’s Rath Eastlink Community Centre, the Canadian Beef Masters competition will feature 15 elite men’s and 15 elite women’s teams from around the world, including defending champions Team Gushue (St. John’s) and Team J. Jones (Winnipeg), the new-look Team Carruthers (Winnipeg), world No. 1 Team Hasselborg (Sundbyberg, SWE) and Halifax’s own Team K. Jones and Team Murphy. All participating teams will compete in a round-robin style bonspiel, contending for a combined $250,000 purse and a berth in the Humpty’s Champions Cup, the final Grand Slam event of the season. Returning for another must-watch Grand Slam event, Sportsnet’s expert curling commentators will be at the heart of the action in Truro. Veteran broadcaster Rob Faulds will have the play-by-play call while 2010 Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin, 1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker provide insight and analysis throughout the bonspiel. Interviews and Media Accreditation Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling competitors and Sportsnet’s curling commentators are available to discuss the Canadian Beef Masters and 2018-19 season. For interview requests or media accreditation, please contact meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com Tickets Tournament passes and single draw tickets are available for purchase at thegrandslamofcurling.com Pinty’s Cup First introduced at the start of the 2018-19 season, the race for the Pinty’s Cup is set to continue next week in Truro. A new season-long race between all men’s and women’s teams, the Pinty’s Cup will see teams compete to accumulate points according to their performances at each Grand Slam event. The team that collects the highest total of points by the conclusion of the Players’ Championship in April will capture the winners’ share of the $300,000 Rogers Bonus Pool. The winners of both the men’s and women’s Pinty’s Cup will also receive personalized championship rings to commemorate their win. Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Canadian Beef Masters *Broadcast schedule subject to change Thursday, Oct. 25
  • Round Robin, 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
Friday, Oct. 26
  • Round Robin, 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)
Saturday, Oct. 27
  • Men’s Quarterfinals, 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Quarterfinals, 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT (CBC)
Sunday, Oct. 28
  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 9 a.m. ET / 6 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Final, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Women’s Final, 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Owned and operated by Sportsnet since 2012, the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling is an elite series of men’s and women’s curling events which are part of the World Curling Tour and feature the best teams from across Canada and around the world. The series expanded from five to seven events for the 2015-16 season. In the 2016-17 season, the total prize money for the Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events increased to $2 million. For more details on future events, please visit thegrandslamofcurling.com. Additional events in the 2018-19 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling series include:
  • Tour Challenge – Thunder Bay, ON (Nov. 6-11, 2018 at Tournament Centre)
  • Boost National – Conception Bay South, NL (Dec. 11-16, 2018 at Conception Bay South Arena)
  • Meridian Canadian Open – North Battleford, SK (Jan. 8-13, 2019 at Civic Centre)
  • Players’ Championship – Toronto (April 9-14, 2019 at Ryerson’s Mattamy Athletic Centre)
  • Humpty’s Champions Cup – Saskatoon, SK (April 23-28, 2019 at Merlis Belsher Place)
Social Media Links Web: Official Website, Sportsnet sportsnet.ca Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling thegrandslamofcurling.com Instagram: Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamofcurling Facebook: Like Sportsnet facebook.com/sportsnet Like Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling facebook.com/thegrandslamofcurling Twitter: Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet Follow Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling @grandslamcurl Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR About Sportsnet Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand. Uniting Canadians through sport, Sportsnet’s multimedia offerings include Sportsnet (consisting of 4 regional channels: East, Ontario, West, and Pacific), Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, the Sportsnet Radio Network, Sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet NOW, the Sportsnet app, and podcasts. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multiplatform rights holder, and is the regional broadcaster for the Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, and Toronto Maple Leafs. Sportsnet also has extensive coverage of the Blue Jays, as well as NBA, MLB, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, WWE, Premier League, and FA Cup. Sportsnet is part of Rogers Media, which is a subsidiary of Rogers Communications Inc. (TSX, NYSE: RCI). Visit Sportsnet.ca.