Skip to main content

Sportsnet Announces NHL Opening Week Broadcast Details

October 11, 2022

News Releases

October 11, 2022 – As the puck drops on the 2022-23 NHL season tonight, Sportsnet is hitting the ice to deliver exclusive English-language national and regional coverage on TV, radio and via live stream on SN NOW.

New this season, fans across Canada can live stream more hockey than ever with more than 1,000 national and out-of-market games as NHL LIVE moves exclusively to SN NOW PREMIUM.

Sportsnet’s coverage of the NHL Opening Week includes:

Tuesday, October 11

7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT – Tampa Bay Lightning @ New York Rangers (Sportsnet ONE & SN NOW)

10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT – Vegas Golden Knights @ Los Angeles Kings (Sportsnet ONE & SN NOW)

  • Studio – Host: Amber; Analysts: Friedman and Stewart

Wednesday, October 12

7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Scotiabank Wednesday Night Hockey (Sportsnet & SN NOW)

Caroline Cameron returns as studio host for the mid-week marquee broadcast, alongside Jennifer Botterill, Friedman and Stewart.

Thursday, October 13

9 p.m. / 6 p.m. PT – Hockey Central (Sportsnet & SN NOW)

9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT – Colorado Avalanche @ Calgary Flames (Sportsnet ONE & SN NOW | Sportsnet 960 The FAN)

Saturday, October 15

4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT – Vancouver Canucks @ Philadelphia Flyers (Sportsnet 360 & SN NOW | Sportsnet 650)

6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT – Hockey Night in Canada (Sportsnet, CBC & SN NOW | OMNI Television)

Host Ron MacLean anchors the Saturday night classic alongside Kevin Bieksa, Botterill, Friedman and Hrudey. Plus, Insiders Friedman and Jeff Marek return for the weekly 32 Thoughts segment during the second intermission.

  • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Ottawa Senators @ Toronto Maple Leafs (CBC, OMNI Television & SN NOW)
    • Play-by-play: Cuthbert; Analyst: Simpson; Reporter: Bukauskas
  • Hockey Night in Canada: Punjabi Edition  – Studio: Randip JandaGurpreet SianTaqdeer Thindal and Amrit Gill; Play-by-play: Mantar Bhandal; Analyst: Harpreet Pander
  • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Montreal Canadiens @ Washington Capitals (Citytv & SN NOW)
  • 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT – Calgary Flames @ Edmonton Oilers (CBC, Sportsnet ONE, OMNI Television & SN NOW)
    • Play-by-play: Singh; Analyst: DeBrusk; Reporter: Oake
    • SN960 – Play-by-play: Wills; Analyst: Loubardias
    • Hockey Night in Canada: Punjabi Edition – Play-by-play: Bhandal; Analyst: Pander
  • After Hours (Sportsnet, CBC & SN NOW)
    • Host: Oake

Monday, October 17

6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT – Rogers Monday Night Hockey presented by Desjardins and Pepsi (Sportsnet ONE & SN NOW)

  • Host Amber and analysts Anson Carter, Cassie Campbell-Pascall and Keith Yandle tee up the evening’s action.
  • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Arizona Coyotes @ Toronto Maple Leafs (Sportsnet ONE & SN NOW)
    • Play-by-play: Cuthbert; Analyst: Simpson; Reporter: Bukauskas
  • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – Pittsburgh Penguins @ Montreal Canadiens (Sportsnet 360 & SN NOW)
    • Play-by-play: Bartlett; Analyst: Galley; Host: McKenzie

As the home of the NHL in Canada, Sportsnet is set to deliver 130+ national broadcasts this season. Complementing the network’s national schedule, Sportsnet will broadcast more than 130 regional games as the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Edmonton Oilers, Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks.

Social Media Links
Official website, Sportsnet sportsnet.ca
Like Sportsnet Facebook.com/Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet on Twitter @Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet on Instagram @Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports network. Uniting Canadians through sport, Sportsnet’s multimedia offerings include Sportsnet (consisting of four regional channels: East, Ontario, West, and Pacific), Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, Sportsnet World, the Sportsnet Radio Network, Sportsnet.ca, SN NOW, the Sportsnet app, and podcasts. Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multiplatform rights holder, and is the regional broadcaster for the Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, and Toronto Maple Leafs. Sportsnet also has extensive coverage of the Toronto Blue Jays and Toronto Raptors, as well as NBA, MLB, Grand Slam of Curling, National Bank Open presented by Rogers, FIBA, WWE, IndyCar, Super League Rugby, Premiership Rugby, Bundesliga, FA Women’s Super League, and FA Cup. Sportsnet is part of Rogers Sports & Media, which is a subsidiary of Rogers Communications Inc. (TSX, NYSE: RCI). Visit Sportsnet.ca.