Skip to main content

Sportsnet Celebrates Canada 150: 2017 NHL Free Agency, Blue Jays Baseball and Special Edition of Tim & Sid

June 29, 2017

News Releases

TORONTO (June 29, 2017) Sportsnet is game-ready to celebrate Canada’s 150th birthday with a can’t-miss Canada Day broadcast lineup on Saturday, July 1, featuring coverage of the 2017 NHL Free Agency period kick-off and the Blue Jays’ showdown against the Boston Red Sox, plus a special two-year anniversary edition of Tim & Sid tomorrow.

Sportsnet’s Canada Day coverage begins with Hockey Central: Signing Season at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT – one hour ahead of the official opening of the 2017 NHL Free Agency period – on Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360 and Sportsnet NOW. Switching gears at 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT, Sportsnet heads to Rogers Centre as Canada’s Team takes on the Boston Red Sox, kicking off a month-long celebration leading into Canada Baseball Day on July 30. Throughout the ballgame, Sportsnet’s all-star roster of NHL analysts will continue to provide fans with the latest news from NHL Free Agency.

Sportsnet 590 The FAN and Sportsnet 960 The FAN also provide listeners with coverage of Blue Jays baseball and NHL Free Agency respectively, while Sportsnet.ca delivers up-to-the-minute news and analysis from around the world of sports.

ALSO: Tim & Sid kick off Canada 150 festivities a day early and celebrate the show’s two-year anniversary on Friday, June 30 at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW. Along with hosts Tim Micallef and Sid Seixeiro, Friday’s show will feature Sportsnet Central host Faizal Khamisa as he wraps up his second annual Toy Drive for SickKids in Toronto and will mark the debut of Stephen Brunt’s Canada 150 essay, chronicling our country’s sports heritage.

Below are the key details of Sportsnet’s Canada Day coverage:

On Television

*also available to stream on Sportsnet NOW

  • 9 a.m. ET / 6 a.m. PT – Tour De France: Stage 1 (Sportsnet ONE)
  • 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT – Hockey Central: Signing Season (Sportsnet and Sportsnet 360)

 

  • 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT – Blue Jays Central (Sportsnet)
    • Fan-favourite duo Jamie Campbell and Gregg Zaun kick off Canada Day celebrations live from Rogers Centre with a pre-game show that includes:
      • Guest Appearances: Canadian icon Don Cherry and Canadian IndyCar driver James Hinchcliffe
      • A “Junior Journey” feature showcasing 2017 Blue Jays draft pick and Mississauga, ON native Cooper Davis
    • 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT – Boston Red Sox vs. Toronto Blue Jays (Sportsnet and Sportsnet 360)
      • Play-by-play: Buck Martinez and Dan Shulman; Game Analyst: Pat Tabler; Reporters: Hazel Mae and Arash Madani
      • Hockey Central updates continue throughout the Blue Jays broadcast on Sportsnet 360
    • 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT – Hockey Central: Signing Season (Sportsnet and Sportsnet 360)
      • Free Agency coverage continues live from the Hockey Central studio following the conclusion of the Red Sox vs. Blue Jays game
    • 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT – Sportsnet Central (Sportsnet)
      • Catch up on all the Canada Day action from around the world of sports with host Martine Gaillard
    • 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT – New York Yankees vs. Houston Astros (Sportsnet)


On Radio

Sportsnet 590 The FAN (Toronto)

  • 12:30 p.m. ET – Boston Red Sox vs. Toronto Blue Jays
    • Play-by-play: Jerry Howarth and Mike Wilner; Game Analyst: Joe Siddall
    • Broadcast coverage will feature breaking NHL Free Agency news
  • 5 p.m. ET – Hockey Nation
    • Hosts Gord Stellick and Todd Hlushko recap the day’s NHL Free Agency headlines

 

Sportsnet 960 The FAN (Calgary)

 

Sportsnet.ca
At home or on the go, Sportsnet.ca has hockey fans covered with the latest NHL Free Agency news and updates. Features include:

  • ca NHL Signings Tracker
  • Analysis of Canadian NHL team signings by Sportsnet hockey insiders
  • Live blog with Luke Fox discussing the most up-to-date NHL news

 

Social Media Links

Official Website, Sportsnet sportsnet.ca
Like Sportsnet facebook.com/sportsnet
Follow Tim & Sid @timandsid
Follow Tim Micallef @tim_micallef
Follow Sid Seixeiro @Sid_Seixeiro
Follow Faizal Khamisa @SNFaizalKhamisa
Follow Daren Millard @darenmillard
Follow Elliotte Friedman @FriedgeHNIC
Follow Doug MacLean @DougMacLean
Follow Nick Kypreos @RealKyper
Follow David Amber @DavidAmber
Follow Chris Johnston @reporterchris
Follow John Shannon @JSportsnet
Follow Don Cherry @CoachsCornerDC
Follow Jamie Campbell @SNETCampbell
Follow Gregg Zaun @GreggZaun
Follow Dan Shulman @DShulman_ESPN
Follow Hazel Mae @thehazelmae
Follow Arash Madani @ArashMadani
Follow Martine Gaillard @MartineGaillard
Follow Mike Wilner @Wilnerness590
Follow Joe Siddall @SiddallJoe
Follow Gord Stellick @GordStellick
Follow Todd Hlushko @ToddHlushko
Follow Dean Molberg @fan960boomer
Follow Pat Steinberg @Fan960Steinberg
Follow Will Nault @Fan960Nault
Follow Peter Klein @primetimeklein
Follow Luke Fox @lukefoxjukebox
Follow Sportsnet @Sportsnet
Follow Sportsnet PR @SportsnetPR 

 

About Sportsnet
Sportsnet is Canada’s #1 sports media brand, connecting Canadian sports fans to their favourite teams and athletes.  Delivering storytelling on a local, regional, national and global level, the multiplatform brand consists of Sportsnet, sportsnet.ca, Sportsnet 590 The FAN, Sportsnet 960 The FAN, Sportsnet NOW, and the Sportsnet app. Sportsnet consists of four regional channels (Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific), and the nationally-distributed Sportsnet ONE, Sportsnet 360, and Sportsnet World.  Sportsnet is the official Canadian NHL national multimedia rights holder, and is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks. Sportsnet also has exclusive TV & radio coverage of all 162 Blue Jays games, as well as other MLB games, Toronto Raptors, NBA, Grand Slam of Curling, Rogers Cup, CHL, IndyCar, and extensive soccer programming including Premier League, Bundesliga, FA Cup and 2018 FIFA World Cup European Qualifiers.

Media Contacts:

Jordan Kerbel, jordan.kerbel@rci.rogers.com, (m) 437.995.3880
Sarah Grossman,sarah.grossman@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.509.9694
Meghann Cox, meghann.cox@rci.rogers.com, (m) 416.258.3296